The Most Valuable NFL Free Agents Heading Into The Next Madden

Posted March 6th, 2014 at 4:45 pm


There is really no period of irrelevance for the NFL especially now that events have been spread out further to ensure something big happens every month of the year. The next in line is the start of free agency which opens up Tuesday afternoon.

Madden ratings do not fluctuate much from the final roster update of the previous season. Players may or may not come in with the same exact rating but they’ll typically be within a point or two of where they stood before if changes have been made. Continue on for a look at how the mid-upper tier of the unrestricted free agent class shakes out in terms of overall ratings to have an idea of the impact they’ll provide in Madden NFL 15 for the teams that signs them. 

83: Michael Vick (NYJ signed)
81: Josh McCown (TB signed)
77: Matt Cassel (MIN re-signed)
76: Josh Freeman, Shaun Hill
75: Tarvaris Jackson (SEA re-signed)
74: Matt Flynn
73: Kellen Clemens (SD signed), Colt McCoy
72: Chad Henne (JAX re-signed)
XX: Ryan Fitzpatrick (HOU signed), Matt Schaub (OAK traded)

Running Back
87: Knowshon Morenon (MIA signed), Maurice Jones-Drew (OAK signed), Darren Sproles (PHI traded)
86: Chris Johnson (likely cut)
85: Darren McFadden (OAK re-signed)
83: Ben Tate (CLE signed), LeGarrette Blount (PIT signed)
82: Ahmad Bradshaw
81: Rashad Jennings
80: Donald Brown (SD signed), Rashard Mendenhall (retired)
78: Andre Brown, James Starks (GB re-signed)
77: Ronnie Brown
76: Toby Gerhart (JAX signed), Jonathan Dwyer (ARI signed)

91: John Kuhn
90: Vonta Leach
86: Greg Jones
84: Michael Robinson, Henry Hynoski (NYG re-signed)
82: Le’ron McClain

Wide Receiver
91: Anquan Boldin (SF re-signed), Steve Smith (BAL signed)
89: Eric Decker (NYJ signed)
88: Julian Edelman (NE re-signed)
85: Sidney Rice
84: James Jones (OAK signed), Hakeem Nicks (IND signed)
83: Golden Tate (DET signed), Jeremy Maclin (PHI re-signed)
82: Emmanuel Sanders (DEN signed), Danario Alexander
80: Riley Cooper (PHI re-signed), Jerricho Cotchery
79: Jacoby Jones (BAL re-signed), Andre Roberts (WAS signed), Brandon LaFell (NE signed), Ted Ginn (ARI signed), Mario Manningham (NYG re-signed)
78: Dexter McCluster (TEN signed),
77: Santana Moss (WAS re-signed), Nate Burleson
76: Jason Avant
75: Kenny Britt
74: Devin Hester (ATL signed)
XX: DeSean Jackson (WAS signed)

Tight End
95: Jimmy Graham (NO non-exclusive franchise tag)
88: Owen Daniels
87: Dennis Pitta (BAL re-signed)
85: Jermichael Finley
84: John Carlson (ARI signed), Dustin Keller
81: Scott Chandler
79: Garrett Graham
78: Brandon Pettigrew (DET re-signed)
77: Brandon Myers (TB signed), Fred Davis

Offensive Tackle
90: Eugene Monroe (BAL re-signed), Branden Albert (MIA signed)
88: Jared Veldheer (ARI signed)
86: Zach Strief (NO signed), Tyson Clabo
83: Eric Winston
80: Anthony Collins
79: Michael Oher (TEN signed), Breno Giacomini (NYJ signed), Bryant McKinnie
77: Austin Howard

Offensive Guard
88: Roger Saffold (OAK signed STL re-signed), Jon Asamoah (ATL signed)
87: Brian Waters
83: Travelle Wharton, Uche Nwaneri
82: Chad Rinehart, Zane Beadles (JAX signed)
81: Geoff Schwartz
80: Willie Colon

92: Alex Mack (CLE transition tag)
89: Brian De La Puente
87: Dominic Raiola (DET re-signed)
84: Jonathan Goodwin
80: Evan Dietrich-Smith (TB signed)
79: Ryan Wendell, Roberto Garza (CHI re-signed)

Defensive End
92: Greg Hardy (CAR franchise tag)
91: Michael Johnson (TB signed)
90: Justin Tuck (OAK signed)
89: Michael Bennett (SEA re-signed), Lamarr Houston (CHI signed), Antonio Smith (OAK signed), Anthony Spencer, Julius Peppers (GB signed)
88: Jared Allen (CHI signed)
87: Chris Clemons (JAX signed)
84: Tyson Jackson (ATL signed)
83: Arthur Jones (IND signed), Red Bryant (JAX signed)
82: Robert Ayers, Brett Keisel
78: Willie Young

Defensive Tackle
92: Jason Hatcher (WAS signed)
90: Randy Starks (MIA re-signed)
89: Kevin Williams
88: Henry Melton (DAL signed)
87: Paul Soliai (ATL signed)
86: Linval Joseph
84: Jonathan Babineaux (ATL re-signed), Ryan Pickett
83: Tony McDaniel (SEA re-signed), Pat Sims
81: B.J. Raji (GB re-signed)
79: Jay Ratliff (CHI re-signed)
77: Clinton McDonald (TB signed), Corey Peters (ATL re-signed)

Outside Linebacker
94: DeMarcus Ware (DEN signed)
93: Brian Orakpo (WAS franchise tagged)
83: Jason Worilds (PIT re-signed)
82: Parys Haralson
81: Shaun Phillips
80: Erin Henderson, Keith Rivers
78: Calvin Pace, Stephen Nicholas
77: Rob Jackson, Michael Boley
75: O’Brien Schofield (NYG signed), Jonathan Casillas

Inside Linebacker
88: Karlos Dansby (CLE signed)
87: Brandon Spikes (BUF signed)
86: D’Qwell Jackson (IND signed)
83: Donald Butler (SD re-signed)
82: Daryl Smith (BAL re-signed)
78: Jon Beason (NYG re-signed)
76: Wesley Woodyard, Perry Riley (WAS re-signed)

97: Darrelle Revis (NE signed)
92: Vontae Davis (IND re-signed), Charles Tillman (CHI re-signed)
91: Brent Grimes (MIA re-signed)
90: Brandon Browner (NE signed)
89: Antonio Cromartie (ARI signed)
88: Champ Bailey, Aqib Talib (DEN signed), Captain Munnerlyn (MIN signed), Jabari Greer
86: Alterraun Verner (TB signed), Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie (NYG signed), Tarell Brown, Carlos Rogers
85: Sam Shields (GB re-signed), Asante Samuel
83: Corey Graham (BUF signed), DeAngelo Hall (WAS re-signed)
82: Cortland Finnegan (MIA signed)
81: Antoine Cason
80: Rashean Mathis
79: Chris Cook, Quentin Jammer, Josh Wilson
78: Terrell Thomas, Tracy Porter (WAS signed)
77: Walter Thurmond (NYG signed), Derek Cox, Nolan Carroll (PHI signed)

96: Jairus Byrd (NO signed)
91: T.J. Ward (DEN signed)
89: Donte Whitner (CLE signed)
88: Antoine Bethea (SF signed), Bernard Pollard (TEN re-signed)
86: Charles Woodson (OAK re-signed)
84: Louis Delmas (MIA signed), James Ihedigbo
82: Stevie Brown, Mike Mitchell, Ryan Clark
81: Chris Clemons, Thomas DeCoud
80: Kendrick Lewis, Roman Harper (CAR signed)
78: Major Wright, Steve Gregory, Usama Young
77: Malcolm Jenkins (PHI signed), Mike Adams

91: Phil Dawson
89: Steven Hauschka (SEA re-signed), Adam Vinatieri (IND re-signed)
87: Jay Feely (ARZ re-signed)
87: Graham Gano (CAR re-signed)
84: Billy Cundiff, Nick Folk (NYJ franchise tag)
82: Josh Brown, Shayne Graham (NO re-signed), David Akers
81: Dan Carpenter (BUF signed), Rian Lindell

97: Pat McAfee (IND re-signed)
86: Donnie Jones
85: Dave Zastudil (ARZ re-signed)