The complete list of new classic teams for NBA 2K18

Posted August 23rd, 2017 at 2:45 pm

The gradual rollout of the 16 new classic teams for NBA 2K18 is now complete, and unfortunately it appears that the two players most fans had hoped for – particularly given the announcement of All-Time teams for each franchise – remain as holdouts. Charles Barkley and Reggie Miller have been absent besides their involvement through the Dream Team in past editions and as a commentator respectively. Barkley has publicly stated he’s asked for a donation of a million dollars to the Retired Player’s Union for his rights but 2K has apparently balked at that request.

Continue on to check out the full list summarizing accomplishments and the big name players from each roster. 2K is also teasing a bonus 17th team, and given the timing of the Kyrie Irving trade to the Celtics (he’ll remain in the Cavs jersey on the cover) it wouldn’t be surprising if that turned out to be Cleveland’s 2015-16 championship squad. Update: The extra team is the 2006-07 Golden State Warriors

1996-97 Miami Heat
The No. 2 seed in the East with a 61-21 regular season record fell in the Eastern Conference Finals in five games to the Bulls. Pat Riley coached a roster which included Tim Hardaway, Alonzo Mourning, Jamal Mashburn, Dan Majerle and Voshon Leonard.

1998-99 New York Knicks
The Knicks finished a lockout-shortened season 27-23, entering the NBA playoffs as the No. 8 seed. They would go on to reach the NBA Finals, losing in five games to the Spurs. Coached by Jeff Van Gundy, the ’98 Knicks roster featured Patrick Ewing, Allan Houston, Larry Johnson and Latrell Sprewell.

2001-02 New Jersey Nets
The top seed in the East would go on to reach the NBA Finals but get swept by the Lakers. Jason Kidd finished his first season with the Nets as the runner-up for league MVP. Kenyon Martin, Kerry Kittles and Keith Van Horn were also major contributors.

2001-02 Sacramento Kings
A 61-21 record in the regular season earned them the No. 1 seed, but the Kings lost in the Western Conference finals to the Lakers in seven games. That series is the one which, according to former referee Tim Donaghy, was fixed for the Lakers with Game 6 being officiated in their favor. The Kings roster featured Chris Webber, Peja Stojakovic, Doug Christie, Mike Bibby and Vlade Divac.

2003-04 Los Angeles Lakers
With a record of 56-26, this Lakers team got the No. 2 seed and would go on to lose in five games to the Pistons in the NBA Finals. Karl Malone (in his final season) and Gary Payton joined Shaquille O’Neal and Kobe Bryant for a run at the title.

2004-05 San Antonio Spurs
This Spurs team won the NBA Finals over the defending champion Pistons in seven games. The core consisted of Tim Duncan, Tony Parker and Manu Ginobli, with support from Robert Horry and Bruce Bowen.

2005-06 Memphis Grizzlies
This year, the Grizzlies finished fourth in the West and got swept in the first round, making them one of the more puzzling “classic” inclusions in the game. The roster includes Pau Gasol, Shane Battier, Eddie Jones and Damon Stoudemire.

2006-07 Golden State Warriors
This electric Warriors squad entered the playoffs as the 8 seed and knocked off the #1 Dallas Mavericks in the first round of the playoffs. Led by Baron Davis the team also featured Monta Ellis, Stephen Jackson, Al Harrington and Jason Richardson.

2007-08 Denver Nuggets
The No. 8 seed in the West, these Nuggets were swept out of the playoffs in the first round. The team is notable, however, because 2007-08 was the lone full season Allen Iverson spent in Denver. Other notables on the roster were Carmelo Anthony, Marcus Camby and Kenyon Martin.

2007-08 New Orleans Hornets
After playing for two seasons in Oklahoma City following Hurricane Katrina, the team returned to New Orleans and earned the No. 2 seed in the West before losing in the second round in seven games. Chris Paul and David West both averaged over 20 points per game. Peja Stojakovic and Tyson Chandler were also key contributors.

2010-11 Dallas Mavericks
The Mavs won the franchise’s only NBA title this season by beating the Heat in their first run as a super team with LeBron James. Dallas was led by Dirk Nowitzki along with Jason Kidd, Tyson Chandler and Jason Terry.

2011-12 Oklahoma City Thunder
James captured his first championship with the Heat by prevailing over this young Thunder team. The trio of Kevin Durant, Russell Westbrook and James Harden was broken up the following season when Harden was traded to the Rockets.

2012-13 Memphis Grizzlies
Swept in the Western Conference finals, these Grizzlies still represent the farthest the franchise has ever reached in the playoffs. The roster featured Mike Conley, Zach Randolph, Rudy Gay and Marc Gasol.

2013-14 Indiana Pacers
Able to capture the No. 1 seed in the East, this Pacers team ultimately couldn’t get past the Heat in the conference finals, falling in six games. Paul George emerged as a superstar in this season, and he’s joined on the roster by David West, Lance Stephenson and Roy Hibbert.

2015-16 Golden State Warriors
Of course, this team will be remembered for both winning an NBA regular-season record 73 games and blowing a 3-1 lead in the NBA Finals to the Cavaliers. Kevin Durant would join the Warriors the following season, helping the Warriors redeem themselves, with Harrison Barnes being the key departure from the 2015-16 squad.