The new classic teams for NBA 2K20

Posted August 14th, 2019 at 10:30 am

With NBA 2K18 the number of classic teams expanded from 45 to 62 and then no new teams were added in NBA 2K19. For NBA 2K20 however there will be six teams making their debut to take the total number to 68. They won’t be ones however that feature either Charles Barkley or Reggie Miller who remain the most prominent holdouts among legendary players.

Two relatively recent champions join the group and the others are meant to be showcases for certain intriguing players given that they were all bounced out early in the playoffs.

2002-03 Phoenix Suns

44 wins and a first round exit doesn’t exactly qualify as a memorable team but these Suns featured some great talent in Stephon Marbury and Shawn Marion – both of which were All-Stars that season – and Rookie of the Year Amar’e Stoudemire.

2006-07 Washington Wizards

Another team that barely made the playoffs and lost in the first round, these Wizards are a showcase for Gilbert Arenas who averaged over 28 points per game that season. Caron Butler and Antawn Jamison were also over 20 points per game making for a fun team offensively.

2009-10 Portland Trail Blazers

After winning 50 games in the regular season and entering the playoffs as the 6th seed in the West the Blazers went down in the first round. Their inclusion here appears to be for Brandon Roy. This was the last year in which he was able to perform at a peak level averaging over 21 points per game. LaMarcus Aldridge, Greg Oden, Andre Miller and Marcus Camby were also key contributors for the team.

2013-14 San Antonio Spurs

Avenging their loss to the Miami Heat in the previous NBA Finals, the Spurs dominated with a 4-1 series win in the rematch. Kawhi Leonard won Finals MVP due in large part to his defense on LeBron James. Tim Duncan, Manu Ginobli and Tony Parker were the other key figures in the Spurs’ fifth championship.

2013-14 Los Angeles Clippers

‘Lob City’ will make its return in “NBA 2K20” with Chris Paul, Blake Griffin and DeAndre Jordan back together on a historic team. They’re joined by sharpshooters J.J. Redick and Jamal Crawford. The division-winning Clippers were knocked out in the second round of the playoffs by the Thunder.

2015-16 Cleveland Cavaliers

Cleveland won it’s first ever NBA Championship by coming back from down 3-1 in the Finals to the 73 win Golden State Warriors. LeBron James and Kyrie Irving led the charge and were supported by by Kevin Love, J.R. Smith and Tristan Thompson. These Cavs join the 2006-07 group and the 2012-13 Miami Heat as the classic teams led by James.